A Court of Thorns and Roses

A Court of Thorns and Roses (Book #1)

By Sarah J. Maas

Well, here I sit again16096824, kicking myself that I am so set in my ways that I didn’t venture out of my comfort zone sooner and read this.

I didn’t even buy the damn book. It was gifted to me by a friend for my birthday. Most books that are given to me as gifts I just put in my bookcase and forget about. But for some reason, I read this as soon as I got it. I don’t know why – I mean I had a pile of books to read – yet I chose to read this. I finished it within a couple of days.

As I looked into the book once I had finished it, I came to realize people either love it or hate it – people either give it 1 star or 5.

A Court of Thorns and Roses is a fairytale/fantasy theme classes as a young adult read – however the relationship themes in the book I would probably class as new adult.

I have a feeling this book is a retelling of Beauty and The Beast – human girl meets mystical/magical man who is a damaged soul. Falls in love yeah yeah yeah you know the situation.

I will admit, I am a first time Maas reader, I was surprised that the story line was so fluent (much better then many books I have ever read!) Maas also manages to maintain a consistent pace throughout the novel – at no stage was I bored by the book, all the twists tie together well and ultimately bring a beautiful story together.

Through out the book you build up your own emotional relationships with the main characters – which will make their story in book two and three more intriguing. I hope in the second book that we see more of the High Lord of the Night Court, Rhysand. I feel there may be a love triangle brewing there!

This book is a 4.5/5 for me! I loved it, and I can’t wait to crack open the second!

I must remind you – I am not one to read YA novels. I for some reason do not enjoy them, however THIS series is now an exception… who knows, it also may be a new door into a genre I always ignored.

Will keep you all posted on how the second book tracks, however every thing I have read on book 2 so far is that is even better then the first.

 

 

Leave a Reply

