The Passage (#1)

The Passage (#1) by Justin Cronin

I thought I would upthe passage.jpgdate you all on a book I am currently reading as it is near on 1,000 pages so I don’t think I will have a new book review for a while!

I am currently reading The Passage (Book 1) by Justin Cronin, it is book one in a trilogy – I came across this book by accident on a recent visit into Dymocks. I was meant to go and by a YA book I had been thinking about now for a while, but this book was on a shelf front and center as I walked in on a 25% off stand. The blurb got me (I have included it so you can be drawn in like I was)

An epic and gripping tale of catastrophe and survival, The Passage is the story of Amy—abandoned by her mother at the age of six, pursued and then imprisoned by the shadowy figures behind a government experiment of apocalyptic proportions.

But Special Agent Brad Wolgast, the lawman sent to track her down, is disarmed by the curiously quiet girl—and risks everything to save her. As the experiment goes nightmarishly wrong, Wolgast secures her escape—but he can’t stop society’s collapse. And as Amy walks alone, across miles and decades, into a future dark with violence and despair, she is filled with the mysterious and terrifying knowledge that only she has the power to save the ruined world.

I am only up to page 200, but I am desperate to find out more of the story, it really is a book I cant put down!

I usually don’t like books where it is written from different characters perspectives/follows different story lines, however Justin has done an exceptional job of keeping all perspectives neat and tidy and not messing them up which I find so many authors make this mistake!

The book has a 4.04 star rating on Goodreads, I rely on Goodreads for ratings as I find they are often quite accurate.

I am excited to see where this story goes, it has been quite exciting so far! I will post another update around the 500 page mark so stay tuned!

************BOOK FINISHED*************

Soooo I ended up smashing out the last 500 pages of the book probably 2 weeks before I had planned due to having a weekend of NOTHING (yay.)

I really enjoyed The Passage for multiple reasons. The first being that I would not normally read a book of this genre, however I couldn’t go past it when it had such a good rating on Good Reads. Now, I intend to read more Sci-Fi books! Which is exciting as sometimes I stress I will come to a book shortage due to being fussy about what I read!

Anyway, this book is something else. I grew SOOOO attached to Amy (the character which the book is based around) I do sometimes find it hard to connect with characters but Justin Cronin has done such a beautiful job, I found I was really responsive to a lot of the characters through out the book, which is again a credit to Justin’s writing.

It is hard to write a review to this, due to so many potential spoilers. So I will just sum it up and say, do yourself a favor. Read the book.

As for the second and third novel, I do wish to read them, however not just yet. I think reading them back to back may be to much for me, But I will read a few interim books then make a start on the second book.

Have you read this book? If so what were your thoughts? Did you connect with the characters?

Leave a Reply

