Jasper Jones

Jasper Jones

By Craig Silvey

After years of picking thiJaspers book up, reading the blurb, then hopping onto Goodreads, then putting back on the shelf, it finally made it’s way home with me.

This book has very mixed reviews, even though it has an average of 4/5 stars on good reads. A friend from my book club said it was “bland” which delayed my reading of it for a long time.

Finally in 2017, in anticipation of the film adaption. I read it. My feels for the book are very neutral. I loved the plot, the start drew me in, and the ending surprised me. It was the middle that lost me. I felt like a lot of the pages in the middle were just meeting a word quota.

Though the middle chapters of the book give you more background on the characters and  era of when the book is set, I just saw so much more potential for the book.

This is the only book to movie adaption where I liked the movie more then I liked the book. Words I never thought would pass these lips.

Don’t get me wrong, I DO like this novel, and I think Craig Silvey is a fantastic Australian writer, I just can’t help thinking WHAT IF. What if the story started in a different point, so we could grow more attached to Laura Wishart before the inevitable? What if there was a more investigative look into the disappearance? Portraying another character as being somehow involved other then Mad Jack Linoel (not that I believed he had any part to do in her demise.)

This book is still enjoyable, and I can see it, in future, becoming a book that secondary school students may study. I just see a lot more potential for it.

If you were to ask me to rate it out of 5 stars, it would be a 3/5.

Have you read Jasper Jones? What was your thoughts on it? Feel free to leave a comment below.

Leave a Reply

